The master is divided into four semesters.

The first two semesters (30 ECTS each) are dedicated to fundamentals and core subjects in physics, optics and photonics. The first semester is done in Marseille, the second semester can be done either in Marseille or in Karlsruhe. At the end of the 2nd semester an internship (at least 2 months) is done by the students in industry or in a research laboratory.

The third semester (30 ECTS) is devoted to more specialized courses. It can be done, under some mobility rules, in Marseille, Karlsruhe, Barcelona, Vilnius or Tampere.

Each year, a Spring School is organized at the end of the 3nd semester. This workshop of 3 days duration brings together all the Master students and some invited PhD students from different laboratories linked to the program (around 120 people attend the workshop every year). The Spring School permits the students to follow advanced lectures related to the fields taught in their master/PhD courses as well as presentations from researchers at the international level and from professionals working in companies.
The Spring School is a privileged moment for exchanging experiences and discuss about career prospectives.
The location is chosen each year by the partners (visit the Spring School page here).

The fourth semester is dedicated to the Master thesis work, which can include student research projects offered by the laboratories present in the consortium, or by others. This master thesis will lead to a report and a defence (with a total of 30 ECTS) held in one of the partners places.




Mobility choice: The Mobility is submitted to some rules defined by the consortium. It will depend in particular on the number of available places in the partner institutions. The 1st semester is done in Marseille. For the 2nd semester, only a certain number of students will go to Karlsruhe, the other students staying in Marseille.

All students must spend at least one semester in a University of the consortium other than Aix-Marseille. If the number of students willing to spend the 2nd (or 3rd) semester in Marseille/Karlsruhe/Barcelona/Tampere/Vilnius exceeds the number of available places in each of these universities, a selection will be done. Everything will be done in order to meet as much as possible students’ expectations. However, respecting the mobility rules is mandatory.

The 4th semester (Master Thesis) can be done in a country different from one of the european consortium partner countries (France, Germany, Spain, Lithuania, Finland). The subject of the Master Thesis must approved by the board of Europhotonics.

The students must spend their study period in at least two of the European consortium partner countries (France, Germany, Spain, Lithuania, Finland).

Schedule: there are three important dates for the mobility scheme
–¬† Semester 2: students have 2 possibilities for Semester 2 (Marseille or Karlsruhe). The final affectation will be done mid Semester 1 and will depend on their wishes, their grades, their ranking, the wishes of the students of the intake and on the number of open seats on both location.
РSemester 3: students have 5 possibilities for Semester 3 (Marseille, Karlsruhe, Barcelona, Tampere, Vilnius). The final affectation  will be done mid Semester 2 and will depend again on their wishes, their grades, their ranking, the wishes of the students of the intake and on the number of open seats on each location. In any case, the students who stayed in Marseille for Semester 2, you will have to select another location for Semester 3.
– Semester 4: the master thesis can be performed anywhere as long as the subject and the duration are compliant with the Europhotonics requirements.